Why I love the ballet – A non travel related post

This evening I had the pleasure of attending a performance of “Allegro” by the Royal New Zealand Ballet. I have been looking forward to this for WEEKS. When tonight finally came around I almost couldn’t contain myself. But why? I go to the ballet quite often and I’m not even a ballerina. The ballet is one of my favourite places in the world and I’m about to tell you why.

I’ve moved a lot. I think my count is 8 houses and I’m only 22 years old. This is how my life has always been and probably how it always will be. I’m okay with this and it’s the way I like it. When you move around a lot it means routines and attachments only last a certain amount of time. Everything and everyone is constantly changing. It’s great. It keeps things fresh! But it’s important to find constants. Constants are things or people that stay in your life no matter where you are. For example my family is a constant. I have a few constant friends. My teddy bear. My love of milk. The ballet.

People move away and loose touch, belongings get thrown away or lost, hobbies come and go but for some reason the ballet has always been there. Musicals and plays are different everywhere you go and you never quite know what to expect. The company of a show is different for every city, town or country so when moving around you get to experience a great variety of theatre. Once again it keeps it fresh and unexpected which is great. But sometimes you just need a comfort. A constant. That is why I love the Ballet. The Royal New Zealand Ballet is a national company that tours at least 3 or 4 shows a year. The same company visits all the cities and performs the same ballet. The dancers join the company and stay for maybe 5-10 years before they outgrow the ballet life and move on. This means an audience gets to know the dancers and they become familiar with their style. This means I have been watching some dancers grow for about half my life. A constant.

The ballet is the ballet. You know what you’re going to get. You know it will be beautiful. You know it’ll be ballet. You could have had the shittiest week you’ve ever had, but you can always look forward to the ballet because you know that you can sit down and watch something that is guaranteed to be beautiful. A constant. The ballet instantly lifts me up, even if I’m already in a good mood. It makes me feel something that nothing else makes me feel. It’s a comfort inside me that I can’t get from anything else. Tonight was no different. To me, the ballet is beautiful. The combination of the music, dancing, costumes and emotion makes for a great watch. I know that when I go to a ballet I can shut out the rest of the world and immerse myself completely. I could have the most important meeting of my life the next day but it wouldn’t matter, my mind would be in the dancing. I could be anywhere in the country (or the world) but I know I’d enjoy myself. The ballet is my constant. Because…

Everything is beautiful at the ballet.

 

Leave a Reply

