“Frozen” Birthday Cake! – How I made a little girl’s day.

This isn’t a post about travel. It’s about… discovery? I’m grasping a straws here but I just really wanted to share with everyone, the cake I made for a young girl’s birthday party today!

I’m the girl at work that always brings in the home baking. Usually it’s cupcakes and usually they are decorated to a theme (Green on St Patricks day etc). Everyone loves it and so do I because I LOVE to bake and I LOVE to bake for other people so naturally when my workmate Tim asked me to create a cake for his daughter’s 4th birthday I jumped at the chance!

His daughter was having a “Frozen” themed party so lots of blue and white and lots of sparkles and happiness. The party wasn’t until Sunday but I started making elements on Wednesday because I was just so excited!!

The cake is a chocolate cake from a fail safe recipe I love to use. I thought I’d share it with you since everyone needs a really good chocolate cake recipe. It’s great because it’s one of those recipe’s where you literally just chuck everything in a bowl and mix…

50g Cocoa Powder
175g Self-Raising Flour
2tsp Baking Powder
175g Caster Sugar
175g Butter
4 Eggs
1tsp Vanilla Essence
6Tbsp Water

Sift dry ingredients into a bowl.

Add everything else except the water and mix it together.

Add the water.

Bake for 35 mins at 180 celsius.

BOOM. Instant delicious chocolate cake.

 

So that’s the cake. The snowman is made of the same recipe, but after it’s baked I just crumbled it up and mixed it with chocolate icing. I then rolled the mixture into balls, put them in the fridge for about half an hour and then covered them in ready made fondant that I just picked up from the supermarket!

IMG_6932

The icing on the big cake is just buttercream with a heap of blue foodcolouring. I added little edible pearls and topped with edible glitter.

IMG_6937

The “Minna” on the top is made from the same ready made fondant that I just coloured blue. I tried to make it look like the  Frozen font too!

IMG_6936

The thing I like about my creations is that they don’t look like they were made in a factory. They look like they were made in my shitty little flat kitchen. But that’s okay, because they were made with love and have little special touches for the person they were made for.

Minna LOVES marshmallows so I made sure to include some. The first thing she said was “I notice there are marshmallows!”. There’s also some edible glitter on the cake so to match it I asked her to close her eyes and I sprinkled some white glitter onto her blonde, french braided hair so it “looks like icicles!”

Overall I am SUPER proud of this cake! I had an absolute ball making it and it just reminded me how much I love making people happy! Happy 4th Birthday Minna!

IMG_6935

Leave a Reply

