My first Buddhist Temple

“Deep breath In, out
Deep breath In, out”

Day two was temple day. The temples were on the other side of town from where I was staying so I bravely caught the bus out west. My first temple was Wat Pho or more famously known as The Temple of the Reclining Buddha. At most Buddhist temples it is required that you wear full length pants and shirts with sleeves so this was my attire for the day. It’s rather uncomfortable in the hot weather but it’s worth it because they won’t let you in otherwise. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA The Reclining Buddha was insane. It’s the biggest statue of the Buddha in this position in the world. It’s completely gold and has the most beautiful mother of pearl decorated feet. I loved the whole temple and spent a good hour or two just wandering around and looking at all the beautiful tile decoration and structures. There’s something about these temples that is so peaceful and wonderful. I really enjoyed myself. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA I then crossed the road to the Grand Palace. I was most excited to see the statue of the Emerald Buddha here and was lucky enough to catch it just before it closed for the day for prayer. You aren’t allowed to take photo’s inside this one but it was stunningly beautiful. It was interesting to observe the contrast of the tourists coming in for a look like me, and the Buddhists who had come from far and wide to pray to this statue. It was this day that the smell of incense entered my nose and pretty much never left. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA The structures here at this palace are insane. The decoration on these pagodas is so intricate that is must have taken years and years to finish. Photo’s do not do this place justice and it must be seen in real life to get the full effect. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA After my hours spent in the temples I decided that instead of bussing back to the hostel I would walk. What followed was a 5 hour wander through the streets of Bangkok after getting completely and utterly lost. I came across so many amazing things I never would’ve done if I had just given up and taken a taxi. Always walk guys! Always walk! I don’t regret a thing.

Leave a Reply

