Saying goodbye to my G family

“because life is short
life is short
so smile”

My final day in Vietnam was bittersweet. I had to say goodbye to the group that had become my family for the past three weeks, but I was also flying out to spend Christmas with my best friend in a country I had never been to before.

My two Canadian friends and I spent our last day together. We went down to the main square in Hanoi and had a drink and snack and talked about life and how it was going to be from now on.

1743563_10155400147005321_8008349319820481086_n 11037472_10155400148510321_5268411872381489593_n

It wasn’t all bad, Cornelia and Lindsey knew they were coming to New Zealand in a couple of months so I knew we see each other again soon, but it was the end of a perfect three weeks of bliss where nothing mattered except adventure and each other. No work to do, no bills to pay, no obligations to meet. Just us and Southeast Asia.

The night beforehand we had all gone out to party and to celebrate our last night together on this trip. I took a few photos with people and looking back I realised that there were so many different walks of life represented in this collage…

IMG_4992

I now had a friendly face and a couch to sleep on in Canada, Australia, South Africa, New York City, England, Northern Ireland, and Scotland. How AMAZING is that? All because I chose to have a G adventure.

They say that when you choose to do a group tour, the group becomes your family. It’s not something I believed… until it happened.

I’d like to thank my G group for the best three weeks of my life. It was truely spectacular.

I’d like to thank Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam for being such welcoming countries and giving me a taste of what it’s like to live there.

Lastly I’d like to that my tour leader Ratha Van. You really opened my eyes and my heart to your country and everyone in it. You told me to smile, embrace the bazaar and live life every day as if it were my last.

10989158_10155464339925078_8577532414564566440_n

It has taken me almost a year to write this post because life back “home” became so busy but I’ll never EVER forget you.

“The world is round, we’ll see each other again some day”

IMG_7161

Leave a Reply

