The famous Cape Reinga sunset

By some miracle I actually got Easter weekend off this year (This doesn’t happen often as I work in TV as a contractor so public holidays don’t exist) so I decided to make the most of it.

I’d never been to the Northern most point of New Zealand so I thought. Let’s do it.

On previous trips up North with family I’d only ever made it as far as Waitangi so I was excited to get further. I spent a few days planning and figuring out how many days to spend in each place and where to stay. I decided on staying in backpackers because a) price and b) the atmosphere. I have really enjoyed staying in backpackers in other places in the world so I assumed NZ would be no different (I was right, backpacking your own country is awesome).

IMG_1149

Cape Reinga was an absolute dream. I woke up at 6am and started driving from Auckland just so I could reach the point by sunset because apparently it’s famous and one of the most beautiful in the country. It didn’t disappoint.

IMG_7524 edit

I went for a walk down a track to start off with before the sun set, then I climbed to the top of a hill to watch it happen. It was absolutely magical and I couldn’t stop photographing it.

IMG_7519 edit

I would 100% recommend for everyone to make the journey north to witness it. I went alone and loved it but I imagine it would be very romantic with that special someone too.

IMG_7520 edit IMG_7529 edit IMG_7528 edit

Leave a Reply

